Exercise · how to · Positivity · Weight Management

Weight Loss & Exercise after 50- Having a Plan!

Why this revelation has made such an impression on me I am not quite sure.  But frankly, I don’t really care! 😉

Maybe it’s because it’s been a long time coming and I’m so READY for change!  And maybe it’s because I hate feeling powerless about ANYTHING for very long!

Long and short of it, Heather and I have been bemoaning the fact that we’ve put on weight that seemingly won’t budge.  Add to that our lack of consistent exercise – well it’s a vicious cycle.  We’ve TRIED a variety of diets and small bursts of ‘exercise’ programs.

Nothing stuck.

Not for me anyway – yet over the weekend I had an epiphany of sorts, and I KNOW this is nothing new, it just never occurred to me in this way.

notepad1

I need a plan.  Yes something to ‘follow’ and refer to.  I know there are lots of online programs out there and forums and the like.  Yet I need something in front of me that I’VE planned out for me!   Writing it down! I know there is no one-size-fits-all plan out there.  So I have done some research and then adapted all I’ve educated myself on, and go from there.

So – that’s where I’m at.

I’m  also fine-tuning WHY I want to do it.  How I want to FEEL on the other side of this, as well as during.  Unlike past attempts that I dreaded, I want my focus to be on the positives of my undertaking and how good it will feel to be moving towards what I really want!

What do I want?  To be and feel lighter in my body, to tone up, build some muscle as well as more stamina for things I want to keep doing or try.  I want to feel good, confident (see last blog post) stronger and more like my old self – no hesitation on whether I can consider doing something or not because of my weight or abilities.

Needless to say, to be continued!  But by all means watch my insights below and feel free to comment on your journey! – Katy


 

Leave a Reply

