Health

Can’t Sleep? Natural Remedies That Can Work For You!

Yesiree – Insomnia Sleep disturbances can really get you down – IF you let it.  I’d rather you not even label your problem as ‘insomnia’ as once you slap a label on yourself, it seems more prevalent in your life.

That being said – always consult with your doctor if you have long-term issues and are just not getting results!

FullSizeRender(3)
Feels like this sometimes!

No one enjoys laying awake at night, watching the clock and worrying about how you will manage the next day. It’s no lie that being tired isn’t fun, and can certainly put a damper on your overall mood and your outlook.  Over time it can also contribute to Adrenal Fatigue which will need to be addressed!  But let’s hope we can keep that from happening.

In my video below I talk about how I managed most of my life with sleep problems and how I finally got a handle on it.  What really helped was  not necessarily by ‘taking’ something (though I did take herbs at times) – but by not giving it the ‘worrying attention’ that I had been doing for years!

I was a ‘worrier’ – born and raised 😉  (kind of ran in my family) and it more or less contributed to my constant waking up or not being able to fall asleep.  More the not being able to fall asleep in the early days.  No fun, let me tell you.  This progressed into my late teens and early adulthood.  In my 40’s it became even more serious as I was not sleeping more than 3-4 hours a night, care taking for my parents.

I was already into natural therapies at that time and did know how to help myself during the daytime hours.  I’m sure this is what kept me from serious adrenal fatigue.  Supplementing with a good green drink high in B vitamins and/or a good B complex I had available all the time!  This made a HUGE difference – and I mean HUGE.  I also took herbs for calming that eventually kicked in once I took them regularly.  It seems when I was busy worrying about others I wasn’t  always taking care me.  Sound familiar?

So!  What I suggest in my video are natural options that have worked for me or others I’ve worked with.  Do some research, don’t take my word for it – but just know they do help and it can just be a matter of trial and error.

  • Calcium/Magnesium supplementation – low dose
  • Herbs – some are: Passion flower, hops, skullcap, valerian, chamomile
  • Melatonin -start with low dose
  • GABA – start with low dose
  • Yoga & Meditation

I go into more detail in the video but know that any of these can help…and are safe- but again, please check with your doctor to know what is best for you.

All of these I suggest doing or taking AFTER dinner – you can do 10 min of meditation or gentle Yoga and still notice benefits.  YouTube has numerous options to start with.  The key with any of these is to do it regularly!

I hope you will find some relief in any sleeplessness you are dealing with. Bottom line is it can be temporary- start looking at solutions instead of telling yourself and everyone else what a ‘problem’ it is and you’ll be half-way there to sleeping better! 🙂 ~ Katy

One thought on “Can’t Sleep? Natural Remedies That Can Work For You!

Leave a Reply

