Positivity

Improving My Comfort Zone With Help From the GooGoo Dolls

FullSizeRender(6)Yes this photo was taken this past Saturday in the rain as I stood with the crowd waiting for the main event to happen!  Once it did, it really was spectacular AND so fun to have them up close.  One of the benefits of rain was that the expected crowd did not happen – so the rest of us were able to get right up in front.

If you watch the video below you will hear my story of how all of this came about.

It was mainly a day to be supporting my daughter and a display she had at the Music/Art Festival.  It was an outdoor venue and all day on Saturday.  It was just a shame that it was cool and raining all but one hour of that day!

But I had committed, I wanted to hang out as along with my daughter and also my sister Joan and my niece were there.  Kind of a ‘girls’ day.  We all made it through the day together – but I have to tell you…at some points it was NOT easy.

Cold and rainy…port-a-toilets… you know how it is.  And add to that I also deal with Plantar Faciitis in both feet – well, I was starting to feel it after a few hours in.  Luckily we had seats by our tent.

When the time came for the concert we were waiting for, we left our tent early and headed over for a good spot.  The word was the GooGoo Dolls were playing at 8:30pm. Well ‘they’ were wrong. It was 10pm.  So for 4 hours I stood on painful feet, in the rain, sopping wet – trying to make the best of it.  Actually I never really complained, I wanted to just ‘do’ this and be all the better for making it happen.

As it was, I was getting to see my outdoor concert I had declared at the beginning of summer that I had wanted to see!   I jumped around on one leg at a time, taking pressure off my feet…I may have looked like I was dancing to the other bands that were playing, lol but I knew better.

By 10 o’clock I had almost convinced myself to just say I’m leaving…no one would blame me…hey, I made it this long, right? hell, As it was, I was one of the oldest people in the crowd.  I was drenched, cold and my feet throbbed – but then…the announcement came on that they were up next!

Wow…they were awesome!  I pushed through the last hour forgetting the discomfort for a bit. Then when they were on their last song, my sister and I both looked at each other…”Okay…let’s go!” Was funny actually.

I had been way out of my normal comfort zone.  I’m a bit of a homebody and being out all day and night was not my normal routine.  But I had fun, hung out with my daughter and Sis and niece…and saw a great band.  I helped take that ‘ego ‘part of me that does not like change – to a new level, and I have to say I’m better for it.

It’s been too long and I’m really trying to get myself out there a bit more from now on.  Pushing limits every now and then is a good thing, especially when its something you’d enjoy but maybe are not totally comfortable with.  I am learning to lean more towards yes, these days, instead of…’no, I don’t think so.’   It feels pretty good. 🙂

As for the future, I’ll keep you posted

Leave a Reply

